The children of fashion

I’m not going to lie, I don’t understand people. We are these strange social creatures (some less so than others) with a bad habit of being incredibly stupid. Don’t bother trying to argue that we aren’t. We regularly introduce various wonderful, colourful, toxic substances to our bodies, for fun! Health and Safety was introduced so that people are less likely to kill themselves on a day-to-day basis. We have The Darwin Awards for a reason. Anyway, that’s beside the point. The point is people are confusing to me.

Now, for those of you who don’t know, I am female and a certain type of person I don’t understand is the fashion followers. Not the fashion students, who are these gloriously crazy souls with fabulous hair, but the sheeple who exist in every town, city, and spaceship. You know you’ve seen them, pottering around in whatever was on the cover of their favourite magazine this month.  WHY?! I’m not saying you can’t wear  it, no no, feel free but I will stare in confusion anyway but you look like a clone of your entire friend group and half the teenage population of the UK. It just strikes me as a little bit daft. Do you actively go out with your little hoard of girl friends and go “Ooh! Look at this shirt! It flatters that one model no one knows the name of and I’ve seen three people wearing it  this morning alone. LET’S ALL BUY ONE!”? I just don’t understand! This, of course, coming from someone who is constantly in t-shirts, jumpers and jeans and who’s clothes are usually of a charity shop type origin.

In addition, where the heck do they get all this money to buy these new things every however-often-fashion-changes? I realise that some of these little zombies work and thus have a more grown up version of pocket money (if you don’t pay bills it is pocket money, be honest). Some just appear in these new clothes when they look like they can’t afford a half decent dye-job! Some of these fashionable things aren’t cheap!

Is it shallow for me to complain so much about a small portion of society? Yes, but these are the same people who will bombard the internet with messages of “be yourself” and “I don’t follow trends, I set them”.They also seem to be the kind of people who enforce these stereotypes of brainless teenagers. A broad generalisation, I know, but I feel my opinion still stands in this tiny, dark corner of the internet.

My mind. It boggles at them.

One thought on “The children of fashion

Leave a Reply

