Time for tea!

Following yesterday’s trend, today I’m going to share with you another one of my favourite places in Preston. No alcohol involved this time, instead we’re going down the stereotypically British route of tea! The Mystery Tea House is a great little tea shop that I was introduced to shortly after Lofty’s. Turn off the main street of Fishergate onto Cannon Street and walk down almost to the bottom and you’ll see the Mystery Tea House tucked away.

The first thing I noticed when I walked in was how unique it was. Small but cozy, with seating upstairs and downstairs. There’s a variety depending on whether it’s just you and a friend having a gossip or a group big enough to take up the two sofas. The art on the walls, I believe, was painted by local artists and can be bought at the tea house, if you ask nicely. There are also African tribal masks and wooden carvings but those are tea house property, much to the dismay of a friend of mine I’m sure. Behind the counter downstairs is a wall of teas in big glass jars. I think they have around 260 varieties including Black, White, Green, Jasmine, Red bush, Oolong, Pu-erh, and the magical Blooming tea.

The Blooming tea is something you’ll want to save up for, and it’s totally worth it. The tea is served in a glass teapot and as the tea brews, the little pod inside blooms into a beautiful flower. I’m currently saving up slowly to get a pot for myself.

Their cakes are pretty delicious too! You can buy the tea sets and teas online and in the shop to take home to make your own tasty tea. The tea sets are gorgeous, I want the yellow floral one, so pretty.

My personal favourite tea is Vanilla Caramel, which is a black tea, paired with the caramel cake. So good. Your tea comes with lemon and honey for you to add to taste. The staff are very friendly and the place itself has a very relaxed atmosphere. What’s not to love? If you’re ever in Preston I strongly suggest you check it out. It’s well worth it.

The Mystery Tea House rocks!
The Mystery Tea House rocks!

Leave a Reply

