The Book Nook: My favourite book

One of the things I loved to do as a child was read. My parents are both big readers. My dad has the tendency to read the same series and authors over and over and over while my mum has read all sorts over the years. During my first two years of high school I read two hundred books, one hundred books each year, a record I was quite proud of. I was going to continue the trend, but in my third year I made some good friends and stopped spending every spare moment in the library. It was my personal brand of escapism, especially during tougher times at school. I would read just about everything and anything. Fantasy and fiction were, and still are, my favourite genres. I think it has something to do with the endless possibilities and imagination that goes into them that just sucks me in.

My favourite book is a classic fiction written by Frances Burnett. My copy of A Little Princess is a 2-in-1 alongside one of her other most famous stories; The Secret Garden. As you can see, it’s a rather battered book as, for a while, I read it over and over.

My much beloved copy
My much beloved copy

My mum bought me this as a Christmas present in 2007. Interestingly, while I immediately fell in love with the rags-to-riches story of a young girl who became orphaned while at an all-girls boarding school, I could barely make it to the half way mark of The Secret Garden. Something about the way Burnett described Sara (our protagonist)’s inner strength during her struggle, and the loving characters that she befriended, appealed to me much more than the demanding, spoilt brat that is Mary Lennox. I admired Sara’s calmness when facing her bullying peers and teacher as I have always been a bit of a hot-head myself.

She is such a loving, sympathetic character I wanted to be like her. To be patient, kind to all, strong, sweet and full of imagination. In complete contrast to Mary Lennox of The Secret Garden who at the beginning of the book, if you will kindly remember, was quite the loathsome little creature. I think it is the strengths of our main character that made this book my all time favourite, though I was a little older than the target audience (I believe). The wonderfully colourful descriptions of the events and wonders that occurred to little Sara didn’t hurt in saving her place in my heart either!

Leave a Reply

