Down The Rabbit Hole

Self-improvement is an unending quest to be the best you can be, or failing that, to successfully emulate your heroes. For the longest time I haven’t really had a hero or a role model to emulate. When I was younger, I wanted to be just like my mother: kind, helpful, and a force to be reckoned with. As I reached my teens and made some close friends, I was so involved with trying to fit in (and so felt completely left out) that I lost track of who I wanted to be and why.

In the past six months or so, I have rediscovered my drive to improve myself. Doing well at university is helping that immensely, as is coming out of a bit of a dark time for me, emotionally. I have kept a mental health diary since August of last year as well to track my moods, both good and bad, and to ask myself the questions I don’t want to answer. As a result, I have been searching for inspiration and ways to improve myself, whether I meant to or not. I re-discovered the ever optimistic and inspiring Caitlin Moran, who’s books I desperately wish to own. Other women who have inspired me recently are the wonderful musicians Annie Lennox and Grace Jones, and the my friend and artist Alyce Brown of Doodlepeople, who has just become and artist full-time (!).

I am excited to be wanting to change and upgrade myself.Scared, but excited!

Adventure – HO!

Leave a Reply

